Story of a lost journalist

March 25, 2012

Stay two feet tall

Filed under: Daily Rot — Cris @ 04:22

It’s such a misery that people need to grow up. Last week I was reading of Adrian Mole, the spotty teen who wrote a secret diary. This week he is 32 years old, dad of two blighters and well… he is still carrying a diary. At least something about him is consistent. I should probably mention that, I read two different books of the same series. Missed a few in between and hence the quick growth of my hero. Strategically speaking (that’s not the right word, I just liked using it) years are not all that different from weeks. I mean I know it took me years to grow up but looks to me like little short weeks that saw my limbs stretch and my innocence fade into crooked phases of life.

One of the reasons I hate going to the beach is also one of the reasons why I love it. Kids. Little blighters rolling their whole two-feet selves over and over without a care in the world. And do all the grownup blokes around give a hoot? No. Imagine I take it into my head to follow these young Tarzans and cover myself in the sands of dune. Do they awwww me and think she-is-so-cute? I bet they’d wiggle out their silly mobile phones and snap away like crazy to send it to the local daily for its “weird photo contest”. Sure it is alright to say ignore the nosey snoopers. But counting a minimum 10 curious spectators, flashing their 100 watt sneers and 16 mega pixel cameras, a crocodile would hide its skin ten feet under!

So my advice to all the little blighters of this world: stay two-feet tall forever. And when you see new birthdays bringing new years to your life, don’t be fooled by the presents and promises – just chase it away back to time. Blow it away, sneeze it away, arm yourself with water guns, just do whatever it takes to make it go. Totally worth your while.

1 Comment »

  1. “Growing up should be the worst stage in life! What’s worse it never stops happening as long as you are alive.”- Cris,Time and its weird tricks

    I think, until and unless we Grow up we won’t be able to appriciate the beauty of childhood, as children we have always wished to grow up to do the things which only the grown ups had the freedom to do.

    Nice one Cris.. Now I have reasons to believe.. March is writers Month..

    Always be happy and Keep Going.. You are on the right Track.. 🙂

    Comment by Javed Miandad — March 25, 2012 @ 05:24 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

