Story of a lost journalist

May 27, 2008

Humor? Or humor?

Filed under: My Musing Moments — Cris @ 15:22

I haven’t written a story in a long time. Well I did but not in the blog. Sometime ago I decided to keep all the stories I write unpublished for a possible future book that I keep dreaming I will write! I remember writing stories which people said were too mushy and touchy and seeking teary sympathetic readers. I liked writing humor, but I also enjoyed writing these “mushy” stories, though I wouldn’t call them that. The way I see it, it doesn’t make a difference to me, as long I can connect, as long as I get involved. 

Writing a story when you are in the right mood is like opening the door to a new world and stepping into it. You start with imagination but in a matter of seconds it turns real to you. You run around changing shoes to fit the different roles. Well you ought to. A good writer is meant to. I, however stick to one character’s shoes most often and see and think the rest of the world from her point of view. So I mostly use first-person narratives. 

In the end you have to step out and you feel sad about leaving a whole world you created for yourself. And each time an author goes back to read her stories, I feel she enters that world all over again. Like an old building she once used to go to; maybe her old alma mater. (What is written in the above lines about the she-authors applies to the he-authors as well). 

Last day I read something I used to write back in college and found that I used humor most of the time. When I started stories later on, however I switched to serious stuff, well not particularly serious, but somehow some kind of tragedy crept into all my stories. I ended up killing my girl narrator many times! 

After trying humor in blogs, I enjoyed that too. Being a major Wodehouse fan I knew humor was too good an element to be missed out. Wodehouse says there are 2 kinds of writers. Quoting his words “I believe there are two ways of writing novels. One is mine, making a sort of musical comedy without music and ignoring real life altogether; the other is going right deep down into life and not caring a damn…” 

Now I am not sure if a writer is expected to follow a certain pattern once he has embarked on “one way of writing”. I think I like both. Humor is great and not easy, the other of “going deep down into life” is great too and possibly harder. If I should choose one, I’d choose to make people laugh I guess. But I don’t want to give up on either. Like MJ used to sing once “You’ll be my baby it don’t matter if you’re black or white” 😀

Well he might have used slightly different words. Good ol’ MJ, he does that kinda thing.

2 Comments »

  1. Humor is nice. It is always nice to relax a bit and take yourselves into a world of laughter once in a while (provided you get the time). And mushy stuff is good for people to vent their pent up sadness and despair – ie for those with those pent up emotions. By the way interesting to see that you switched to the masculine gender when referring to an author in the last half of the passage. Guess it is your resonance with Wodehouse. I liked his works too. Have read quite a few of his.

    Comment by Minking Than — May 28, 2008 @ 01:22 | Reply

  2. Only a writer can write about how it is to be a writer.. And you have done it so wonderfully.. You are good at comedy as well as those touchy mushy writing..

    Looking forward to see your book published..

    And also looking forward to buy a copy of it..

    Comment by Javed Miandad — February 10, 2012 @ 19:00 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

